top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Brody

Lessons from the Inside

As coronavirus continues to spread, gap year students living in Israel for the year have been returning home in large numbers. Upon returning, many have realized that they learned more about Israel than they even realized.


Some students note the differences in health systems. "While living in Israel, I learned not everything is as accessible as it is in the States," Ilana Williams, who recently returned from the Nativ College Leadership Program in Israel, noted. "For instance, if I wanted rubbing alcohol or pain meds, I would have to go to the pharmacy and ask someone behind the counter for a bottle. Also, when I had an ear infection, I needed a doctor’s note claiming I had an ear infection even though I clearly did."


Others learned about everyday culture in Israel. For example, I (Samantha Brody, hi readers!) learned the easiest way to get through a crowd or onto a packed bus: just push your way through! Israelis are so unapologetic about their attitudes, and being around them for months has given me the power to get what I need when I need it. Edan Green, who was studying at Midreshet HaRova, also noted her newfound connection to the people of Israel. "Israel taught me diversity," she explains. "I’ve been introduced to a world of many roads that all confidently lead to spirituality and community. I’m beyond amazed and inspired by the amount of daily kindness that people show each other, not despite the diversity, but rather in an embrace of it."


Others used this year as an opportunity to learn about themselves through the lens of an Israeli lifestyle. Hevruta participant Gabby Grunfeld writes that she "I was pushed way out of my comfort zone and I couldn’t be more grateful for it - the cultures, the food, the learning, the life lessons, and the friendships I made will last forever."


Living in Israel is a unique opportunity to discover culture and how you fit into Israeli culture. Use your time of social distancing to reach out to friends in your area who recently returned from their gap years (they're probably bored!) or anyone who participate in one in the past. You never know what you could learn!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page